Ben goes Bardown

Busting onto the Blog scene is something I never thought I’d be doing but here I am. For those of you that know me, or even for those of you that don’t know me, you will see me being extremely blunt about the New York Rangers on twitter (mainly due to the character limit, you can’t beat around the bush when it comes to the twittersphere). I will not sit here and only use stats that have no meaning out of context until I’m blue in the face but I also won’t see here and strictly use my eyes to tell me what is going on with our loveable team from Manhattan. There is room for both and there needs to be SYNERGY between these two concepts. This first post is just a basic understanding of where I am coming from and for you guys to get to know how I roll.

So far, this New York Rangers team and season has been such an odd one, but not in a bad way. There have been some ugly and glaring issues of course, but this team is something I haven’t seen in a LONG time on Broadway. Many of us will have trouble remembering a team that was able to roll out four solid lines, each of which can seemingly score at any moment of a game (Hint: 2014 isn’t one of these teams). However with the good comes the bad unfortunately. It is very clear that this NYR defensive group is suspect at best but it isn’t as simple as some people make it out to be. Like I said I am not here to throw numbers and percentages at you (re: fancy stats) to prove this point…you have ALL seen the same stats being thrown around. To put it very simply, sometimes this D can look competent (yes even Girardi) some games and it can ALSO look putrid (yes even McDonagh) some games. Please note that I’m not saying McDonagh and Girardi are the same caliber player. What I’m saying here is that even our BEST D-Man has looked subpar at some points but people ignore it just because “Girardi is worse!!” There is no one fix for this problem, and as of right now, we can only wait and see what happens with the trade deadline looming.

I am just being extremely broad here as I am still getting my feet wet with “blogging” but there will be a lot more insight (yeah probably one you haven’t seen in a LONG time) to come in the near and far future. So please, sit back, and enjoy the ride we are all on with this (hopefully) blessed NYR team.

Author: @BenR_Experience via Twitter

Leave a Reply

